NCR

Main Content

Latest Results

Friday 4th October 2019

Harper and Holland Crowned Irish Champions before power cut at the Raceway.

Friday evening’s race event was called to an abrupt halt at Nutts Corner Raceway after a power cut left the arena with no lighting. Fortunately before the power outage 3 races were completed, including the Stock Rod and Brisca F2 Stock Car Irish Championships.

Race 1 of the evening was the ORCi Stock Rod Irish Closed Championship which come down to the wire. Raymond Harper was the pole sitter and got off to a flying start at the green. Harper stretched well clear of the competition in the early part of the race. As the race settled towards mid distance it soon become clear that the second place runner Adam Sloan had strong pace and was closing the gap on the leader Harper. Sloan kept the pressure firmly applied until he had caught up with Harper and started to make an attack on the outside, as the race reached lap 20 Sloan give it his all on the outside but run wide and lost a lot of ground which allowed Harper to cruise of into the distance again. The five lap to go marker was now on display and appeared that Harper had done enough to complete the distance unhampered. This proved no to be the case however as Sloan was on a phenomenal come back and again mounted a challenge for the lead with 2 laps left to run. Harper on the inside, Sloan on the outside, it was sure to be an intriguing run to the flag. Sloan tried all he knew around the outside but had to settle for second as Harper crossed the line a matter of inches ahead. Joining them on the podium was Shea Duff who rounded his season out with a fine third place finish.

Next up was the Brisca F2 Irish Closed title decider. It was an all-star cast on the front row with Craig McConnell pole and Gavin Fegan on the outside, while menacingly placed behind was Curtis Greer and Sam McKay. At the green, Fegan quickly removed McConnell wide allowing him to take up the running. While behind McConnell, Greer and company squabbled for position. It wasn’t long until McConnell positioned himself back in second and went in search of the leading Fegan car. Over the next few laps the gap between first and second reduced drastically until the pair were as one and began to battle for position. A caution period was required for stricken cars on the raceway which would regroup the cars once more. By this stage Fegan was a casualty after an incident on turn 3. This left McConnell back at the front with McKay and Greer next up. It was another explosive start which would result in a further caution period this time for McKay and Greer who had tangled in style. In bizarre fashion the field was dwindling drastically, with only 5 cars remaining McConnell, Stephen McCready, Ted Holland, Conor Hughes and Gerard Hartley. After the earlier onslaught the leading McConnell Car was carrying damage, which would see him side-lined soon after the restart when there was another tangle up with McCready, who also spun out of contention. The 5 was now done to 3, Holland, Hughes and Hartley. Holland managed to complete the remaining laps and survive a last bend attack from Hughes to Crown himself Irish Champion for 2019, Hughes was the runner up with Hartley third.

Also due to be settled on the night was the 2L Saloon Stock Car Irish Championship. This has been rescheduled to take place this Sunday ( October 20th) at 1pm. Also on the billing is the Micro Bangers Figure 8 Championship,NI Car Jump Championship and M4D Drifters.

- My Laps Information

Results History

- Sunday 13th September 2020
- Sunday 30th August 2020
- Sunday 23rd August 2020
- Sunday 9th August 2020
- Sunday 8th March 2020
- Saturday 7th March 2020
- Thursday 26th December 2019
- Sunday 20th October 2019
- Friday 4th October 2019
- Sunday 29th September 2019
- Sunday 15th September 2019
- Saturday 14th September 2019
- Friday 30th August 2019
- Friday 23rd August 2019
- Sunday 11th August 2019
- Wednesday 31st July 2019
- Wednesday 26th June 2019
- Wednesday 19th June 2019
- Sunday 9th June 2019
- Saturday 8th June 2019
- Wednesday 29th May 2019
- Sunday 19th May 2019
- Wednesday 8th May 2019
- Wednesday 17th April 2019
- Sunday 7th April 2019
- Saturday 6th April 2019
- Sunday 10th March 2019
- Saturday 9th March 2019
- Monday 1st August 2016

FORTHCOMING FIXTURES

Sunday 4th October 2020, 1.00pm

Brisca F2 Stock Cars
2L Saloon Stock Cars
Junior Rods
Micro F2's
B2B Micro Bangers DD
Car Jump
M4D Drifters

OUR PARTNERS