Welcome to Nutts Corner Raceway
One of Northern Ireland's leading Stock Car
motorsport promoters.

    • Next Meeting: Wednesday 26 December - 2.00pm
    • Derek Mason King of the Corner Memorial for - 1300 Stock Cars, Brisca F2 Stock Cars, Junior Rods, 2L Saloon Stock Cars, Stock Rods & Caravan DD

Facebook Twitter YouTube My Laps

Nutts Corner | Meetings | Results | 2014 | Sunday 12th October 2014
  • Next Meeting

    • Wednesday 26 December - 2.00pm
    • Derek Mason King of the Corner Memorial for - 1300 Stock Cars, Brisca F2 Stock Cars, Junior Rods, 2L Saloon Stock Cars, Stock Rods & Caravan DD

      Updated: 31 Jan 2018 19:12

Latest Results

  • 26th September 2018

    Results, report and photos from our meeting on 26th September 2018

    Updated: 28 Sep 2018 16:03

  • 16th September 2018

    Results, report and photos from our meeting on 16th September 2018

    Updated: 02 Oct 2018 17:04

  • No Items

Sunday 12th October 2014

C-MAC triple title delight!!

Bangor’s Craig McConnell drove a blinder to crown himself Irish Champion for the third time in his career in what was arguably the best Irish championship in recent times.  It was the defending champion Chris Kincaid who started of pole position with McConnell alongside while Conor Hughes and Gavin Fegan were menacingly placed on row 2. After 2 rolling laps Kincaid was away like a shot building up a healthy gap between himself and Hughes in second, by this stage McConnell had been spun around and was at the back of proceedings. It wasn’t long until a yellow flag bunched them all up again after Ted Holland and Dean McCrory come together on the river end.  Kincaid anticipated the green flag in text book style again pulling several lengths clear of the chasing pack where Ryan McCrory was making inroads on the second place Hughes, 2 more caution periods followed and by the third restart R McCrory was into second and ready to offer opposition to the long time leader Kincaid. R  McCrory delivered a few blows on Kincaid and eventually made it to the front, however this was to be short lived as the pair came together gifting the lead Hughes, with all the drama and excitement McConnell had picked his way back up to second place with William Murray in third. With the laps ticking away it looked as though Hughes was safely out-front to take the win when another yellow flag was required to remove Kincaid’s stricken car from the racing line at the end of the back straight, this set the scene nicely for a grandstand finish with Hughes and McConnell setting about the remaining laps in close contention, McConnell gradually edged closer to Hughes before he made the crucial move on the second last bend to take the lead and indeed the win, Hughes was the gallant runner up with Murray third at the line, Martin Stewart, Jonny Stirling and George Campbell were the only other finishers. Ryan McCrory took the spoils in the very action packed Irish Revenge race while the newly crowned champion McConnell rounded out his day with another victory in the allcomers.

Wright on target!!

Ryan Wright wrote his name into the record books alongside Winston Weir and Andrew Stewart as a three in a row Saloon Stock Car Irish Champion after a well judged win in the 2014 decider. Wright started the event from the outside of the front row alongside Irish Open Champion Ross Houston, with danger men Anthony McIvor and Tommy McCrory Jnr. poised on row two. The line-up was completed by Stuart McCammon, Kieran McIvor, Colin Jones and Davy Patton and at the green flag it was Houston who shot away into an immediate lead, while McCrory was an early spinner which brought out a caution flag at the end of the opening lap to move an errant marker tyre. At the resumption Houston motored clear once again, while a tense battle raged for second between Wright and A. McIvor. There was little to separate the pair at this stage until a clash along the start / finish straight cost McIvor a lot of time and allowed Wright to break free.

The defending champion was now free to concentrate on reeling in the race leader, but the crowd were deprived a battle between the big two as Houston’s motor began to slow dramatically shortly afterwards and within a few laps the County Armagh man was forced to retire his car with engine problems. That left the way clear for Wright to forge ahead and once in front the Cullybackey man began to pull further and further clear from his pursuers. Back in the pack McCrory’s hectic race continued when he was spun again, by Kieran McIvor on this occasion, while A. McIvor was making good progress back through the field and gradually worked his way up to second place.

Leader Wright was still well in control however and completed the twenty lap distance comfortably ahead to take the title by the length of a straight and make it three Irish titles in a row. McIvor recovered splendidly from that earlier incident to secure the runner-up spot, while a great scrap for third was finally resolved on the final bend where McCrory seized an opportunity to leapfrog the battling K. McIvor and McCammon and snatch the final podium spot after an eventful run from start to finish for the Antrim lad.

The Irish Revenge race was next up for the Saloons with the cars lined up in reverse order of the Irish Championship grid. This brought a fine win for A. McIvor, ahead of McCrory and McCammon, before the afternoon was concluded with a win for McCammon in the Allcomers event.

Lowry picks up the pieces

Nicky Lowry was declared winner of the 1300 Stock Car Irish championship in which he finished second across the line. After a lengthy battle with Lowry Ryan Stewart took the flag in the feature race however he was disqualified when his car did not pass post race checks. Lowry then inherited the win with his car given a clean bill of health at scrutiny , William Stewart was another who didn’t meet the standards when checks were carried out which lead to disqualification and subsequently lost his third place finish, Richard Taylor was promoted to runner up with Aaron Rainey Third. Lowry took the spoils in the Irish revenge race also.

The Junior Rods were on hand to provide the support action where Shea Duff recorded a excellent win in heat one before the Irish champion Aaron Moody took over by collecting the silverware in both the second heat and the final. The curtain has fallen on another season of fine short oval motorsport however the raceway will burst back into life on Boxing Day with all the classes contesting the Derek Mason Memorial King of the Corner titles.

BriSCA Formula 2 Stockcars 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
"Irish C/ship" 925 929 909 243 74 368 NOF
Irish Revenge 944 312 925 929 718 300 909 455 711 24
Allcomers 925 718 935 24 300 312 455 278 944 NOF
Grand National Not Run
Junior Rods 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th 11th 12th
Heat 1 958 314 44 997 65 38 21 53 111 246 888 NOF
Heat 2 44 997 314 53 40 65 246 21 24 111 958 NOF
Final 44 314 65 958 38 40 24 246 111 888 NOF
1300 Stock Cars 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
"Irish C/ship" 212 984 929 NOF
Irish Revenge 212 145 984 NOF
Allcomers 212 NOF
2L Saloon Stock Cars 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
"Irish C/ship" 153 711 132 29 811 997 NOF
Irish Revenge 711 132 29 611 997 NOF
Allcomers 29 NOF
  • 1
  • 1300 Stock Cars 2014 Irish Champion
  • 2
  • 2014 3 Irish Champions
  • 2L Saloon Stock 2014 Irish Champion
  • 6
  • 7
  • F2 Irish Champion
  • IMGP0078
  • IMGP0379
  • IMGP0420
  • IMGP0495
  • IMGP9658
  • IMGP9758
  • IMGP9838
  • IMGP9906
  • Untitled

Site developed and maintained by Chris Frankum (powered by MiWeb CMS software (c) Nexus Open Software